Meditation 04: Guided Meditations

yoga_01

Hi to all,
As most of you know, My current spiritual path has lead me to meditation to help light my way spiritually. Today I would like to talk about Guided Meditations. As I have mentioned before I love them. The problems I came across when I first started Meditating were these; I wasn’t sure what I was meant to be meditating on, I wasn’t sure if I was doing it properly, I was having trouble clearing my mind and I was having trouble finding the motivation to continue on a regular basis.

What do I Meditate on?

I have been able to deal with and even overcome these problems by starting my meditative journey with guided meditations. First of all, what do I meditate on? Well this is still my choice, even with guided meditations I can choose one that really appeals to me. Once I start to meditate without a guide I can totally cater my experience, but I feel it is important for me to first understand how to use different meditations in different ways so that I can get the intended results out of my unguided meditation. Unguided meditation certainly makes you use your mind more though. I feel like it works my consciousness more. But it’s like jumping straight into heavy weights when starting out. You just can’t lift them.

Am I Doing it Right?

So now I’ve reduced the weight to something I am more capable of. It feels good. The next thing was knowing if I was doing it properly. Because you don’t see results straight away, I wanted to be sure I was doing it right. I really didn’t want to put in all this effort to get no results and find out I’d been doing it wrong. Of course with guided meditations someone will walk you through it from beginning to end. Some are more thorough with the walk through than others. The more thorough ones are great for beginners. You can’t go wrong really, as long as you research what you are looking for and find the right meditation for you.

yoga_02Clearing My Mind

I am still not quite sure how to relieve my mind of all thoughts, though concentrating on my breathing is the closest I can get to it. I figure being able to control the mind and limit it to one thought and one thought alone has got to be a step in the right direction. I know that you probably think that sounds easy but it’s not as easy as it sounds. It is actually quite hard to stop things invading your thoughts; the bills, someone who made you mad, Something you are worried about, the list goes on and on. I believe that once I can keep one thought easily for an extended amount of time I might be able to start actually clearing my mind for periods of time.

Whilst clearing the mind is extremely beneficial to any spiritual journey it is not essential to start feeling the effects of meditation and getting the answers you seek. I have found that it is more about how receptive I am to the answers that helps. The question doesn’t even have to be asked out loud, only bought to the conscious mind. The answers are then given. Sometimes I know it is the answer to that I have asked, but I will go into denial, or make excuses to do other things or try other ways. I am learning to stop wasting my time. I am still stubborn at times, I am a Capricorn. I am actually looking forward to being able to consciously quiet my mind.

Finding Motivation

Now that I have addressed the other problems I had with meditation I find it is no longer a discipline to do it everyday. I now find that meditating everyday is a privilege and I look forward to it everyday. I am also working on bringing awareness to all that I do. I have realized that meditation comes in many forms and that it is possible to stay in one of many meditative states at all times. So far I have met two of my Guardians through meditation, I have raised my vibrations somewhat, I have learned to relax more easily, taken a lot of stress off of my shoulders and begun to manifest more easily. Truly enjoying the journey right now.

lllsign_01

2 thoughts on “Meditation 04: Guided Meditations

Leave a Reply

